Tuesday, November 25, 2008

U.K. Evening Standard Award Winners

Winners at the 54th Evening Standard theatre awards:

Best actress
Margaret Tyzack and Penelope Wilton - The Chalk Garden (Donmar Warehouse)

Best actor
Chiwetel Ejiofor - Othello (Donmar Warehouse)

Best play
The Pitmen Painters by Lee Hall (inspired by a book by William Feaver; Live Theatre and National Theatre co-production)

The Ned Sherrin award for best musical
Street Scene (The Opera Group, Young Vic and Watford Palace Theatre co-production)

The Sydney Edwards award for best director
Michael Grandage - Othello / The Chalk Garden / Ivanov (Donmar Warehouse and Donmar West End at Wyndham's)

Best design
Neil Murray - Brief Encounter (Kneehigh at Cinema Haymarket Theatre)

The Charles Wintour award for most promising playwright
Tarell Alvin McCraney - In the Red and Brown Water / The Brothers Size (Young Vic)

The Milton Shulman award for outstanding newcomer
Ella Smith - Fat Pig (Trafalgar Studios and Comedy Theatre)

Special award
Kevin Spacey

Editor's award
The Royal Shakespeare Company for the History Cycle at the Roundhouse

No comments: